Sunday roast – pulled brisket

brisket-on-waffles

I love a Sunday roast…. it’s been a tradition for most of my life, as my Mamma used to cook up a storm on Sundays and roast was always on the menu. That being said…. I’m doing my Sunday roast mid-week this week as I wanted to write up the recipe. Finally! I think I’ve been promising this one forever. At least this will make the recipe ready in time for your Sunday roast 😊

The big cook up sessions have continued on in my kitchen…. I treasure my creative time in there, although it was cut short today, as I sliced off the front of two knuckles on a mandolin while shredding vegetables for kimchi 😫 Sorry for the graphic visual that may have come to mind just then. I continue to relive the moment about eight hours after it happened! SO painful!! Husband had to get involved with finishing off the brisket for me in the end, which was interesting… he’s a bit of a fish out of water in the kitchen but he did a top job shredding the brisket for me, don’t you think? 😊

I’m not quite sure where my love of brisket started but it’s become a firm favourite for me that’s for sure and certain. It’s very easy to cook, it’s super tasty and it can be accompanied by any number of side dishes. We’ve had it on my carrot and parsnip waffles, in tacos, tossed in a salad and served with roast vegetables. It will work with whatever takes your fancy. It’s a great dish for feeding a crowd too!

I tend to make this on the weekend then use it as my protein of choice for the rest of the week. A once a week cook-up is bliss to a busy lady’s ears, am I right?!

If you are histamine intolerant you are very likely to struggle with long stewed meats but you will know best about that for you. I had issues with it in the early days but another friend has never had a problem. Everyone is different on that front.

This is a wonderfully easy meal. It’s a set and forget kind of recipe but do keep an occasional eye on it as a loss of all the liquid will dry out the meat. Enjoy! ❤️

Sunday roast – pulled brisket

brisket
Serves 8-10

Ingredients

  • 1.5kg grass fed beef brisket (I bought mine at Field to Fork in Vaucluse)
  • 1 Tbsp* olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard**
  • 1 large sprig rosemary
  • 1.5 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2.5 cups chicken or beef broth (I used my homemade chicken broth)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper for seasoning

Method

  1. Heat a large heavy-based saucepan (make sure it has a lid!) over a medium-high heat and add the olive oil. I used my 28 inch Le Creuset pot for this. It’s perfect.
  2. Season the brisket with salt and pepper, then when the pan is hot enough, brown the meat on all sides finishing with the fat side up
  3. Switch off the heat and spread the mustard over the top (fatty side) of the brisket. Lay the rosemary sprig on top and add a little more salt and pepper
  4. Pour the apple cider vinegar and 2 cups of the broth into the pot around the sides of the meat. It should come roughly half way up the side of the brisket so pour slowly as you may need a little less or perhaps more depending on the shape and size of your meat (some may be thinner than others)
  5. Put the lid on your pot and place it into the oven to cook for 4 hours. At about the 2 hour then 3 hour mark check there is sufficient liquid left in the pot. If not add the additional half cup. You don’t want the meat swimming in broth when it’s finished cooking but having a little left to toss the meat in makes it extra juicy
  6. Once cooked remove from the oven, shred with two forks to make pulled brisket and serve with your choice of masa harina tacos, carrot or parsnip waffles or just good old roast veg and salad. It’s delicious any way you choose!

Note: If you find the meat is not coming apart easily after 4 hours, just pop it back for another half an hour.

* I use an Australian Tbsp measure which is 20ml

** Be cautious with your choice of mustards as many contain sulphites and other preservatives. Be sure to read your label.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment